It is currently Fri May 24, 2024 9:55 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Two Straps in Hatchback
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:48 am 
Active Forum Member
Active Forum Member

I am a new vette owner. I have two straps in the hatchback of my 82 collectors edition that I don't know what they were used for. One is behind the drivers seat above the hatch release knob and the other is on the other one is on the opposite side. Can someone help me identify these?

thanks

Post subject: T-Top Straps
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:05 am 
Veteran Forum Member
Veteran Forum Member

I believe you are describing the staps that hold down the T- Tops when removed.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:25 am 
Active Forum Member
Active Forum Member

This may be so but the straps are only about 6" long and my Vette has a T-top holder on the back. I am new to all of this, does the tops (in the bags) snap onto the sides or how do they work? I am still confused about it.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:08 pm 
Veteran Forum Member
Veteran Forum Member

It sounds like the T-Top strap, like MacGuyver said. It's supposed to be a Y-shaped part, hooked left and right into the back compartment (under the carpet), and hooking onto a hook behind the brake cover/armrest. It's supposed to hold down the tops if you store them behind the seats. I actually bought one from S. Ridner (he had a spare), as mine didnt have the front part (quite common to break off).. I can take a pic of what mine looks like, if you want and post it..
Let me know.

:wave

-Stefan

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:43 pm 
Active Forum Member
Active Forum Member

Thanks for the help. I did not have a clue what they were. I must be missing the actual strap but I am not too worried about it. If I find the straps that someone is selling, then I might be interested. I mainly wanted to know what they were for.

thank you for all the help.
I am still learning about Vettes